The Pattinson Code

May 28, 2010

Author Dee Marie Says She’d Like to See Rob Star in an Adaptation of Her Book

Filed under: Robert Pattinson — Nursey @ 3:21 am
Tags:

Here’s an excerpt of an interview with Dee Marie, author of Sons of Avalon: Merlin’s Prophecy:

If this were to be made into a movie, who would you like to play the major roles?

I think every author ponders which Hollywood stars would best bring their characters to life. I did not have any specific actors in mind when I wrote the book. However, since its publication, I have been on a constant “talent search.” Now, when I watch a movie or television show, I scrutinize the cast for “possible” players in a movie version of Sons of Avalon: Merlin’sProphecy.

This is my current casting call, which is always subject to change, due to the fluctuation of new talented streaming into Hollywood, or simply my fickle whims.



Lot: Robert Pattinson (Twilight) …I took a giant leap-of-faith with my imaginary casting of Robert Pattinson, as Sir Lot. I had only seen him briefly (playing a small part in two of the Harry Potter films). However, with the prospects of his staring role in the movie Twilight (based on the popular novel with the same name, and my current obsession with the vampire series), I have a gut feeling that no one but Robert could portray misunderstood anti-hero Lot.

Meleagant: Tom Sturridge (Vanity Fair) …At first I considered him for the role of Nentres. Yet, For purely selfish reasons (after all this is my fantasy casting call), I would be interested in watching him take on the challenging role of young man on a spiral decent into insanity.

If you want to read more of the interview, and more of her fantasy casting, you can go here.

Source

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Everyone. Wow, it does pay to “Google.”

    The original interview, where I speculated about the “dream cast” for a movie version of “Sons of Avalon: Merlin’s Prophecy,” obviously took place before the theatrical release of “Twilight,” and Rob Pattinson’s rise to stardom. At first, I had only seen Rob Pattinson in the Harry Potter films (“Goblet of Fire” & briefly in “Order of the Phoenix”). Yet there was something memorable about his performances.

    A lot has happened in the two-and-a-half years since the interview was published; to both Rob’s career, (his rise to stardom) and his age. In the first book of my “Sons of Avalon” saga, the story revolves around the teen years of Sir Lot and Merlin, and their rise to power.

    After much consideration, and pondering over the cast, I would still want Rob to star in the movie version of “Sons of Avalon” (who wouldn’t?). However, after following Rob’s career and watching him grow as an actor, I now feel that he would be better suited for the role of Uther Pendragon. In the novel, Uther is in his early twenties, not the old man that many envision him to be.

    Like Sir Lot, Uther Pendragon is a complex character. More villain than hero, Merlin’s rival … a role that would unquestionably stretch Rob’s acting skills.

    Speculation or visionary … Only time will tell.

    Wishing you all a year filled with magical moments; and who knows, perhaps a future movie deal with one of my favorite actors, Rob Pattinson, staring in the historical drama as the all-powerful Uther Pendragon.

    Sincerely,
    Dee Marie
    Author of the “Sons of Avalon” saga
    http://twitter.com/dee_marie_soa

    Comment by Dee Marie — July 24, 2010 @ 8:23 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

